Family

Family… don’t we just love them? Well most of the time, but there’re some times when they flat out drive us crazy! That’s normal because we are so close to them they know what buttons to push and when to push them.  I don’t want to focus on what they do to drive us crazy but instead focus on why we love them so much.

Family… they know our history… good or bad they know all about us; when we were born, where we were born, our parents, siblings, aunts, uncles, grandparents and all the other details about our life. The schools, neighborhoods, sports we played, clubs we belong to etc.etc.

Family…they know our religious background, education level and political views. They know if we’re conservative, liberal or a moderate and why.

Family… they know if we’ve been married and how many times, who we hang out with and many of the other choices we’ve made throughout our life.

Family… they know what career paths we’ve chosen and how long at each. The reason we changed and why. Basically our family knows more about us collectively than anyone else and they really care about us!

Just the other night I talked to my 84 year old uncle Tony for the first time since Christmas, he’s my only uncle still living, he’s a great guy and has been a very caring and fun person my whole life. He knows all those things I mentioned above about me and still likes me because he’s family. I called him because I heard he had been in the hospital and I wanted to check up on him.  Remember a few years ago that song that came out “We are Family….” Families are great! What a blessing to have people that know so much about each other and really do care. Why did it take an event of sickness for me to call him? I’m busy with work, kids, church hobbies etc. I really don’t have a good excuse.

Family… don’t take it for granite because we all age and someday they’ll all be gone. You can pick your friends, careers and many other things in life but you can’t pick your family, that’s a good thing!

Don’t wait until it’s too late pick up your phone and call that uncle or aunt, brother or sister, mom or dad, even a cousin. Remind them how much you care, don’t wait for an event to stir you to show your love. All families have issues, special circumstances and conflicts but “We are family” we forgive, forget and have unconditional love!

Family… it’s your family make it the best family!

Read more:  www.dontjumpitsonlyabump.com

Leave a comment