The Best Present

spring sunsetDecember 25, 2012

“The Best Present”
My best present, let’s see I’m in my fifty’s so I’ve had many birthdays and Christmas’ where I received gifts, I received some very nice ones so this may be difficult? Was it the pellet gun, tool box, clothes, vacation or ping pong table? Well the more I think about it I can’t think of one gift that stands out as great or the best. Maybe because the gifts are just stuff, yes, they’re fun to dream about having then when you unwrap it and hold it, sure it’s fun then after a few days or weeks the newness wears off and it becomes your stuff. It blends in with all the other gifts or items you’ve collected over the years and it falls into the category as just stuff. Then after time it moves from your bedroom to the closet, to the basement or garage then one summer day you decide it’s time to put it in your annual garage sale where you sell it for dollar or two. The item evolves from having meaning because it was given to you by someone special to the graveyard of meaningless stuff to be sold for pitons because it out lived its purpose.

I definitely have special moments in my life that fall into the category of great blessings and I would say they were gifts like… my wife. I don’t possess her or anything like that however, I still remember the day she walked down that isle in a white dress smiling and willing to say “I DO” when the minister asked her about becoming my wife. Classify her as a gift? I don’t want to minimize her value, but I do thank God for bringing her into my life and since God created her and I was fortunate enough to meet her, I believe she has been a gift from God and most precious. The blessings continue with two additional gifts, my son and daughter and I thank God often for both of them. So, several of the best presents I ever received doesn’t fall into the category of any “stuff” but instead my family which God has blessed me with, a wife and two children.

How does a guy like me deserve to be so blessed? First of all; I don’t deserve anything so special second; I don’t believe in fate or luck so how did I happen to be so fortunate? I’m this fortunate or blessed because of the best and greatest gift ever given or received by anyone and that is the gift of salvation. I received this gift way back in August of 1975 when I realized I was lost and needed salvation from my sins to receive eternal life. I was only eighteen years old, confused and hungered for the meaning of life which, when I heard about the birth, life and death of Jesus Christ a light bulb came on in my head, my heart felt heavy from sin and I realized the solution to my confusion was repentance, acceptance and faith. I repented of my sins, I asked Jesus Christ for forgiveness, accepted him as my Savior and believed that God created the world, that he gave his son Jesus for the remission of sins and that he would give me eternal life. That day Jesus Christ came into my heart and changed my life. The best and greatest present I ever received was the gift of eternal life from God in August 1975. The gift that continues to give every day, week, month and year! God is my heavenly Father, Jesus is my Savior and Brother… every day has value and is worth living because of my relationship with Jesus Christ.

My greatest gift can become your greatest gift if you will pray and ask Jesus into your life. Repent of your sins, accept Jesus as your personal Savior and believe! You will become a new creature in Christ, old things, habits, bad stuff will pass away. You will have a fresh start!

http://www.dontjumpitsonlyabump.com

Leave a Reply

